Why

Stupid press conferences.  They always seem to find questions that you can’t answer.  Or that are too complex to answer in thirty seconds.  Like the big one.  Why I’m staying in Florida.  Well, it’s a long answer.

I suppose I could start by talking about how I left New Jersey.  Basically, I felt that management wasn’t treating me the way I thought I deserved to be treated.  So I used a clause to opt out.  Management knew it was coming, but their response was, “do what you need to do”.   And, well, leaving was what I thought I needed to do.  I looked forward to my new life with some new team where I would be treated better.

So I signed with Nashville. It seemed like the perfect fit.  But then Skip … skipped town.  And we had been gelling as a team and playing so well.   But the new manager…he was no Skip.   Well, I didn’t threaten, I just pointed out I only had one year left.  And that this wasn’t the same team I’d signed on with.  So I would be leaving at the end of my contract.  At which point, a deal was made with San Francisco and I was reunited with Thunder *and* Pancakes in the same rotation.  And I did well enough, but the magic wasn’t there and when my year ended, I moved on.

So that puts me in Florida.  We were rolling.  And then he boss disappeared.  I mean vanished.  The league appointed a new guy and that meant that I had the option to leave at the end of the season.   But I’ve done enough leaving I think, between opting out of New Jersey and being traded from Nashville.  I don’t know if it’s because I was given a second chance at life, but I’m not a quitter and I think that opting out is the same as giving up on a team and it’s skipper.  It’s late in the year but Rizzo seems on top of things and I like his can-do attitude.

I’m staying.  I signed a contract and I pledged to the fans that I’d be here.   I don’t want to go all “my word is my bond” or anything but the truth is, I need to step up and start taking responsibility and control of my life.   That includes living up to the contracts I’ve signed.  I’ve disappointed the fans in the past and I don’t want to be that guy anymore.  I want to be a guy the fans embrace because he’s out there giving his all and he’s not cutting and running at the first hint of trouble.

You want to know why I’m staying?  Because it’s the right thing for me to do.

Leave a Reply

