Quack!

So, it was like this. My contract is up at the end of 2018. And, yeah, I’m thinking about FA. Not about where I’d go–it’s too soon for that. But about whether I would stay. And the truth is, my luck in Wichita hasn’t been so good. I keep getting hurt. I don’t know if it’s the coaching or the club trainer or if it’s just my time, but part of me says, you know, Ryan, you might be better off in a different dugout

Well, while I was pondering it, TJ comes to me and asks me what my plans are. And when I tell him I am probably going to be spending my last year in Wichita, he said, with my permission, that he’d like to try to trade me. I told him I wasn’t extending with anyone so they need to know it’s a rental. And that sure, he could look around and let me know what he sees. It’s kinda cool to see what other people think a year of my time is worth. Or who.

He started looking. He didn’t have to look very hard because, right away, San Fransisco expressed firm interest. Well, gee, I didn’t think they’d be able to afford me (that was an issue when I wanted out of Nashville) but I was told that Thunder would take a pay cut. And, that was all I needed to hear. Y’see, I kinda miss sharing a clubhouse with Thunder. Sure, he can be an ass, but so can any of us. And Pancakes! Maybe Strawberry Rose can get off the ground this time.

I’m looking forward to 2018 more than I can describe. I haven’t been this excited about an upcoming season since the year I was the ace in NJ over Thunder (which didn’t actually work out like I hoped or expected). I want to be on the mound. I want to take the ball. I want to show everyone what I’m capable of. And it’s not just about me, it’s about the team. The thing I missed most about New Jersey was the chemistry. Well, San Francisco has it’s own style of chemistry.

I guess the best way to describe it is to say that baseball is fun again.

Leave a Reply

