Experience

This is for a special someone…

Take a Chance on Me

You don’t know how much I want you
You can’t hear my silent plea
And I’m never going to tell you
‘Cause you don’t belong to me.

I love how you’re persistent
When you strive to reach your goal
And I love your smiling laughter
And the beauty of your soul

But your love is for another
And you won’t give me a glance
I just know I’d win you over
If I only had the chance.

Still I’ll love you from a distance
Hoping someday that you’ll see
That my love for you is real
And you’ll take a chance on me.

***
I am good. That’s a statement of fact, not opinion. I have hardware on my shelf that backs up my assertion. I am good. My ERA is below two and all my starts have been “quality” starts. I’m on a pace to strike out as many hitters as I did last year (which set a league record). I am good.

How do I share my goodness with my teammates? I’m an award-winner. How can I use that to the advantage of the team?

I think if there was an answer to that, much of the league pitching would be improved.

And I want to say something about Seaver here. The girl has all the tools to be a great pitcher. She just isn’t putting it together. She’s beating the teams she should beat (which is good) and losing to the tough teams (which is not so good). She should be beating the tough teams sometimes, too. They play the games because that’s the only way to know for sure who will win. Simulations and statistical comparisons won’t do it. What that means is that there is a chance that any pitcher can win any day. Heck, Duke Snyder just recently pitched a no-no. It can happen and it does.

She’s not the only one struggling. What I’d like to do is somehow magically transfer some of my experience to them. I talk, I demonstrate, I coach. But it’s not enough. I guess the truth is that everyone has to do it for themselves. That’s what makes it experience instead of knowledge or wisdom.

Experience: If you don’t have it, you’ll get it.

Leave a Reply

»
