The same old same old

We are the HA champs. As such we faced the BR champs for the league championship title. And we came up short. This isn’t the first time that’s happened to us but we’re certainly hoping it’s the last time. We’re a good team and we’re getting better all the time. Next year is our year.

The thing is, when you’re a runner up, people treat you like a runner up. The most common question I get in interviews is what does it feel like to come so close? What do you think it feels like? Second place is first loser. It’s not where we want to be. But you can’t say that because it makes you sound like a sore loser. I’m not a sore loser. I just know we could’ve done better.

Second question, will the team do better next season? Oh, please. Of course we will. We have an able manager in Steve Thiele and he will do the necessary things to improve the team. I don’t know why people are asking that. We’re not going to go downhill and we’re not going to stagnate either. So the only way to go is forward here.

Third question, how do you feel about your performance in the championship series. Again, what do you expect? I had my worst outing in the postseason. I am not happy with it, my teammates are not happy with it and no one is going to actually say that. What they are going to say is that I struggled in that game and that we nearly came back.

What do losers do in the offseason? Well, that’s not really what they ask, but it’s what they mean.  I know I’m not planning on doing more interviews. I’m not sure what these guys can do different, they’re only doing their jobs, but the tenth time you’ve answered the same question your answer comes out trite.

A question that makes sense is to ask what will you work on in spring training?  This one is sorta in the middle between dumb and not dumb.  I’m obviously working on my pitching.  Anyone who wasn’t aware of that is a complete moron.  But I’m working on my breaking pitches especially this spring.  It’s something I had an issue with during the season.  Not that my breaking stuff  wasn’t good…I just noticed I’d fallen off a little.   You can’t really work on pitches during the season because you need to be winning games.  So I’ll spend March working on it.  Well, and the second half of February.  Pitchers and catchers report on Valentine’s day.

I probably  won’t have a lot to say until then.  So I guess I’ll get all that holiday stuff out of the way.  Happy Thanksgiving, Season’s Greetings and Remember Martin Luther King.

One Response to “The same old same old”

  1. ST Says:

    We’ll get those bastards eventually. 😉


Leave a Reply

