Success is relative

I don’t know how to describe it. We beat New Jersey in the playoffs. I made up for my regular season loss against Santana Gutierrez by beating him twice when it mattered. It always feels odd playing my old team. Facing the guys who used to have my back in the field. Having them try to score against me instead of for me.

And then it was back to the familiar. Lancaster in the championship. We lost, too. That’s kinda familiar as well. The one time I won with the Nightmares, I shut out Kaell in game five. Rings all around and what a great feeling it was to be a part of that team.

Truth be told, there are times when I wonder why I left that team. Times when I wish I were back there. We had so many great times there. Hypnophobia for example. I have a lot of friends on that team. I remember a couple years I did websites for everybody. Good times for sure.

Don’t get me wrong, though. It’s a great feeling to be a part of this team, too. We are the best that Nashville has ever put on the field. Success is relative though. I’m not going to give you some crap about how making it to the championship was enough. I will say that we did great things. Next year, we can do even better. I know that the boss is proud of us. And I believe we’re all proud of ourselves as well. This year we came up short. Next year will be a different story.

One of the differences is that they’re adding four teams and splitting us up. The big thing is that it will add a round of playoffs at the end of the year. We’ll still be in the Hank Aaron conference but now we’ll be in the Willie Mays division. Boston and New York will also be there, along with the expansion Brussels Bulls. I’m not sure what the schedule will be like but I expect we’ll see less of the Babe Ruth teams.

Until the championship anyway.

Leave a Reply

«

