A big difference

Everyone knows I’m leaving New Jersey. What everyone doesn’t know is that the club is saying they won’t pay me the incentives I earned under my contract with them. The general impression they give is that they’re too lazy to calculate the amount and so they’re throwing a figure out there and telling me I have to take it, even though it’s low.

I asked a couple of friends for advice. It was suggested I write to the commissioner. And so I’ve written him a letter. In the letter I tell him what the correct amount is and I ask him what I need to do to get the rest of my money. I’m not sure what’s going to happen with that. I may need to speak with the player representative.

And it’s a lot of money. According to my calculations, I’m owed $11,430,000. They only want to pay me $8,000,000 of that. That’s a difference of over $3,000,000. Now, in the past I’ve voluntarily rebated some of my money to the club. I had seriously considered whether to rebate any of my incentive money this year. Well, Achilles has made the decision for me. I will keep the money. They say time is money. Well, maybe that means money is time. I would gladly have traded the money for time. But not any more. It’s mine, I earned it, and I’m keeping it.

The contract was entered into voluntarily by both parties. I pitched for a season in good faith that I would receive the incentives listed in the contract. Now, it is true that I have a lot of incentives. But Achilles is supposed to be good at math. So he should’ve foreseen the kind of money we’re talking about here. He can’t legitimately claim sticker shock.

Last year, I was entitled to over $18,000,000. And there was no talk of capping it at a lesser amount then. The only reason this is happening now is because I’m leaving the Nightmares organization. It’s a vindictive act by a bitter man.

But it’s spelled out in the contract. Everything from $5,000 for each Player of the Game award to $1,700,000 for pitching seventeen shutouts. I don’t want more than I’m entitled to. I just want what’s legitimately owed.

Posted in Me, Team. 1 Comment »

One Response to “A big difference”

  1. Achilles Says:

    Actually there was talk several seasons ago of capping Nightmare salaries, as you might remember you supported it, go read the post..so try talking shit about me after you have your facts straight. This will be the last you hear from me. Peace out!


Leave a Reply

