Am I good enough?

Am I good enough? That’s the question. Thunder said we’d compare stats to see who is the better pitcher. And if it’s me, then I get to be #1 in the rotation next year. The thing is, Thunder had a bunch of stats he was using to measure who was best. But then he went down and was out of the rotation for a week or so. So he said I could change the stats. To use ratios instead of raw numbers. So instead of wins, it’s winning percentage. Instead of strikeouts, it’s K/9 IP. Etc.

Well, you can see the final tally here. It looks like I’m the winner. I lead in everything except K/9. But it’s Thunder’s contest so he gets to pick. He might want to take out some of those ratios and put new ones in. I haven’t had the chance to talk to him yet so I don’t honestly know what will be the outcome.

But it’s the end of the season and I did a pretty good job. I have 23 wins. I remember when I was projected to have 17. And I did it! I got 300 strikeouts! Some other interesting tidbits. I went the distance over half the time. I also won the Player of the Game half the time. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I think I’m good enough. But I’m not running the contest.

We’re headed to the playoffs where we face New York again. Wichita gave the Firebirds a run for their money but they couldn’t quite get it done. It came down to a head-to-head series and the Twisters needed a sweep. The first game went to extras, but Twisters lost and it was all over for them. That’s too bad. I was looking forward to facing Timmy Johnson some more. I have him meaured for a size three collar.

But it’s New York. And we’re gonna beat ’em.

Nightmares in 2012! Believe it!

Leave a Reply

