Halfway there

So we’re past the All-Star break. And we’re about half-way through the season. Time to see where I’m trending.

A couple weeks ago, I was projected to win 17 games. I wasn’t happy with that. And I said I’d do better. I am. I’m now projected to win 19 games. One game at a time. I won 21 games last year. Certainly I can win 20 this year.

Some good news though. I have ten complete games. Four of them were shut-outs. At that rate I’ll have seventeen complete games and seven shutouts. That would be unreal.

As it sits now, my ERA is at 2.52. That’s second in the conference. My ERA for the month of June was over three. At the end of April, it was under two. If I can have more months like April and fewer months like June, I’d be a lot happier.

To me, though, the most amazing number is my strikeouts. I have 174. Now, Thunder has like twenty more than I do. So it’s not that. It’s the projection. I’m projected to strike out about 300 guys this season. That’s downright amazing.

Nolan Ryan started his first All-Star game in 1979 at the age of 32. I’m only 24 and I’ve started two. That takes my breath away. I’m not named for him but when I was a kid and learned about him I was proud to have the same name. It’s why I became a pitcher.

The team continues to do well. We’re showing the league that we’re serious about repeating.

Nightmares in 2012! Believe it!

Leave a Reply

