Striving for excellence

There are a lot of fancy ways to measure a player’s contribution to his team. And there are quick and dirty ways. One of the quick and dirty ways is to look at the player’s individual stats and see how they stack up against the stats of the rest of the players on the team. Thunder and I are keeping track of how we are doing against each other, for example. But there are other ways.

There’s how many PoG awards a player has won. There are 25 players on the roster and the Nightmares have won 50 games. That’s 50 PoG awards to go around. Now if everyone were contributing equally, then each of us would have two. But it’s never that easy. For one thing, there are 15 main men out there contributing everyday. 5 starters, 1 closer and 9 hitters. So, 50 divided by 15 is three.

I have five. That demonstrates that I’m contributing to the success of this team. Actually, I contribute every time I get a win. But wins are divided only among pitchers. And if you divide the wins among the starters, we should each have ten. I have nine, which is close. The bullpen has nine, so if you look at it that way, then I should have eight wins out of the fifty because 41/5 is eight. So by that measure as well, I’m doing my share.

I would love to contribute more. I think every player wants to be the team hero. I did that, once. In 2010, in the playoffs against NY. It was the greatest feeling in the world to know my team was depending on me and that I was coming through for them when it mattered most.

I just want to play at that level all the time. I can’t sustain it though. I think both of those are a part of human nature. We want to excel but we still have our limitations.

“Striving for excellence motivates you; striving for perfection is demoralizing.” Someone said that once. I’m not trying to be perfect. I just want to be the best that I can be.

I am a champion. I’m on a team of champions. We will be champions again.

Nightmares in 2012! Believe it!

Leave a Reply

