I don’t like what I’m seeing

Through 13 games last year, I had a 9-3 record and I was named the PoG four times. This year, through 13 games, I have only a 6-3 record and three PoG honors. I don’t like this trend. I’m projected to win 17 games in 2012, which isn’t bad. But it’s not good enough to put me at that #1 spot next year.

I honestly don’t know what it is. I was doing so well and now I’m just … not. In my first three games my ERA was 1.64. In my last three, it was 4.50. I definitely need to kick it up a notch if I’m going to get where I want to be.

Me and Thunder, well, it’s like this. I haven’t won since May 15. So Thunder has 8 wins to my 6. Three of mine were shutouts, but I don’t think they figure in. Thunder’s struck out 16 more than me. My ERA is better, at 2.26 but Thunder’s WHIP is better, 0.93. So in most things, Thunder’s got the lead and I’ve got some catch-up to play.

I hate giving up runs. I hate how a guy will hit the ball somwhere through the hole and then now you have a guy on first or maybe second. And you can’t get the guy behind him to ground out or strike out or hit itnot a double play. And now you got two runners. And an extra-base hit scores somebody. There are other variations on the scenario and the all add up to this. When a batter hits a ball, he becaomes a runner and runners are harder to get out and they often come across the plate to score.

I’m tied for third in the conference in hits given up. Those runs start off as hits. Fewer hits would be fewer runs. In the past couple of years, my infield has been able to make the double play behind me and erase some of those runners. This season that doesn’t seem to be the case.

As a team we had a bad week but we’re still on top of the conference by four games. This week we play New York and St. Paul then head to San Francisio. I start against St. Paul on the 11th. It’s a Sunday afternoon game. We’ll see if maybe I can get a win.

Hopefully we can take 2 out of 3 from New York and sweep St. Paul. That would be a good week for us. We’re a good team. We have the pitching. We have the offense. We have the defense. And a premiere catcher calling the games behind the dish. The parts are all there. When they work together, nothing can stop us.

Nightmares in 2012! Believe it!

Leave a Reply

