Fine by me

Okay, I’m gonna say it. I suck. But I’m not the only one who sucks on this team. We only have two guys hitting over .290. And the only starter who can win consistently is Horatio Caine. We suck. We all suck. I suck, he sucks, and those guys, too. Achilles said if I started pointing fingers he was gonna fine me. Go right on ahead. If I don’t say it, someone else will.

We are 7-12. That is second-worst in the league. And we’re the defending champions? I goddamn know we can do better. But for some reason, we’re not. I know Priebe has been out. And, yes, he was Mr. MVP for us in the playoffs. But he’s only one guy.

And don’t go all Timmy Johnson on me, either. Every game we send nine guys to the plate. Him going to Wichita wasn’t the best thing that ever happened to this team, but it wasn’t the end of the world, either.

The thing that gets me is that I know we’re a better team than this. Beneath this wimpy, 7-12 exterior beats the heart of a championship ballclub. We just have to pull it together and get it done.

And that means all of us. Me included. When I pitched in San Francisco I gave up six runs and only struck out three. Yes, I am the same pitcher who beat effing Kaell in effing Lancaster. But you can’t tell from looking at me.

I truly believe I have what it takes to be a great pitcher. And I truly believe that we have what it takes to be a great team. I believe that each and every one of us is capable of greatness. We just need to reach within ourselves and find it. We’ve shown the world that we’re champions. It’s time to do it again.

Nightmares in 2012! Believe it!

Leave a Reply

